Unite to Reform

Unite to Remain is changing to Unite to Reform - supporting and facilitating electoral agreements between progressive and internationalist parties

I would be interested in receiving further information about supporting Unite To Reform:


About us

Unite to Reform is changing the way we do politics. We are a group of political strategists, data scientists, campaigners and politicians who worked, as Unite to Remain, to build the Remain Alliance in the December 2019 General Election by bringing together parties in England and Wales - the Liberal Democrats, Green Party and Plaid Cymru, to encourage an outcome whereby there was a single Remain candidate in 60 key parliamentary seats. As well as opposing Brexit our parties agreed on the need for greater action on climate change, addressing growing poverty and constitutional reform including PR for the House of Commons. 

The overall result was of course very disappointing, despite the fact that in the large majority of constituencies where Unite to Remain operated the parties saw big gains in vote share, and stronger increases on average 5.6% higher than in non UTR seats. This gives us hope and a plan for the future.

A full analysis of what happened in UTR seats in the General Election can be found here - evidence that voters will support parties working together

UTR candidates on average polled 5.6% higher than non UTR candidates. The potential for future success has been demonstrated.

Looking forward the problem is this: if we continue to work along traditional party lines, we will split votes, allowing the ideological fringes of politics to win. We have a Prime Minister intent on taking the UK with a very poor and very hard Brexit deal. We can bring the latest polling and data insights to allow progressive and internationalist parties break through the unfair first past the post electoral system. We are the facilitator - providing resources and space for discussions between parties, encouraging them to agree to work together for the greater goal. We launched in November 2019 with the announcement of the most significant electoral pact since 1918. The result simply demonstrated that if progressive parties with similar objectives do not work together then they will be defeated by a unified populist Conservative Party.  




The UTR constituencies and candidates in the 2019 General Election

In England

Green Party:

Brighton Pavilion - Caroline Lucas
Isle of Wight - Vix Lowthian
Bristol West - Carla Denyer
Bury St Edmunds - Helen Geake
Stroud - Molly Scott Cato
Dulwich and West Norwood - Jonathan Bartley
Forest of Dean - Chris McFarling
Cannock Chase - Paul Woodhead
Exeter - Joe Levy

Liberal Democrats:

Bath - Wera Hobhouse
Bermondsey and Old Southwark - Humaira Ali
Buckingham - Stephen Dorrell
Cheadle - Tom Morrison
Chelmsford - Marie Goldman
Chelsea and Fulham - Nicola Horlick
Cheltenham - Max Wilkinson
Chippenham - Helen Belcher
Esher and Walton - Monica Harding
Finchley and Golders Green - Luciana Berger
Guildford - Zoe Franklin
Harrogate and Knaresborough - Judith Rogerson
Hazel Grove - Lisa Smart
Hitchin and Harpenden - Sam Collins
North Cornwall - Danny Chambers
North Norfolk - Karen Ward
Oxford West and Abingdon - Layla Moran
Penistone and Stocksbridge - Hannah Kitching
Portsmouth South - Gerald Vernon-Jackson
Richmond Park - Sarah Olney
Romsey and Southampton North - Craig Fletcher
Rushcliffe - Jason Billin
South Cambridgeshire - Ian Sollom
South East Cambridgeshire - Pippa Heylings
South West Surrey - Paul Follows
Southport - John Wright
Taunton Deane - Gideon Amos
Thornbury and Yate - Claire Young
Totnes - Sarah Wollaston
Tunbridge Wells - Ben Chapelard
Twickenham - Munira Wilson
Wantage - Richard Benwell
Warrington South - Ryan Bate
Watford - Ian Stotesbury
Wells - Tessa Munt
Westmorland and Lonsdale - Tim Farron
Wimbledon - Paul Kohler
Winchester - Paula Ferguson
Witney - Charlotte Hoagland
York Outer - Keith Aspden


Green Party:

Vale of Glamorgan - Anthony Slaughter

Liberal Democrats:

Brecon and Radnorshire - Jane Dodds
Cardiff Central - Bablin Molik
Montgomeryshire - Kishan Devani

Plaid Cymru:

Arfon - Hywel Williams
Caerphilly - Lindsay Whittle
Carmarthen East and Dinefwr - Jonathan Edwards
Dwyfor Meirionnydd - Liz Saville Roberts
Llanelli - Mari Arthur
Pontypridd - Fflur Elin
Ynys Môn - Aled ap Dafydd